0800 MASSEY (+64 6 350 5701)

2020 Symposium


Transforming New Zealand construction through innovation and performance improvement

School of Built Environment, Massey University

20th February, 2020

School of Built Environment at Massey University is proud to announce the 6th New Zealand Built Environment Research Symposium 2020 to be held on 20th February 2020. The theme for this symposium is “Transforming New Zealand construction industry through innovation and performance improvement”. This one day event will feature industry keynote speeches, academic presentations by postgraduate research students and academic staff, and panel discussions. The symposium aims to bring together built environment researchers in the NZ universities to disseminate their research findings or works-in-progress to the industry and research colleagues.

Key Dates

  • 6th December 2019: Full papers/extended abstracts submission deadline
  • 31st January 2020: Acceptance/Camera ready submissions
  • 16th February 2020: Proceedings finalised
  • 20th February 2020: Symposium Day

Registration Fees

All presenters must register for symposium. Registration Fee is $75 per attendee, excluding GST (currency is New Zealand dollars). Deadline: 9th of February, 2020. Please see website for the registration portal.

Pay for registration here 

All slides for the presentation will be published after the symposium on this page

All papers accepted and presented at the NZBER Symposium will be published in the  proceedings which can be downloaded free from the links that will be made available on this page.

Download Proceedings-NZBERS-Feb2020

The guidelines and templates for paper submissions are available through the links below. Our industry participants are encouraged to submit extended abstracts.

Symposium Location:

  • Round room – Atrium Building
    Massey University, Albany campus (access from Gate 1)

Parking Infor: Student Parking Zone

  • Wajiha Shahzad (Chair)
    Massey University
  • Eziaku Rasheed (Co-chair)
    Massey University
  • Ali Ghaffarianhoseini
    Auckland University of Technology (AUT)
  • Amirhosein Ghaffarianhoseini
    Auckland University of Technology (AUT)
  • Funmi Rotimi
    Auckland University of Technology (AUT)
  • James Rotimi
    Massey University
  • Linda Kestle
  • Suzanne Wilkinson
    Massey University

Sponsorships: Gregory Chawynski, Massey University

  • Ali Ghaffarianhoseini
  • Amirhosein Ghaffarianhoseini
  • Atie Ahmadi
  • Claire Flemmer
  • Eziaku Rasheed
  • Gregory Chawynski
  • Hennie van Heerden
  • James Rotimi
  • Kenneth Tak Wing Yiu
  • Linda Kestle
  • Mikael Boulic
  • Monty Sutrisna
  • Mostafa Jelodar
  • Naseem Ameer Ali
  • Niluka Domingo
  • Rino Lovreglio
  • Robyn Phipps
  • Suzanne Wilkinson
  • Wajiha Shahzad
  • Wen Yi
  • Lara Tookey

Sponsors will be published on the website closer to the event date. The organising committee welcomes interested sponsors in any of the sponsorship categories:

  • Platinum – NZD 1000
  • Gold – NZD 500
  • Silver – NZD 350
  • Bronze – NZD 150

For more details about sponsorship, please contact: